Cover Story

UNVEILED – New power sharing proposal

By Jale Richard

The Sudanese Mediating Team on Wednesday unveiled a new Bridging Proposal aimed at harmonizing the different positions of the parties to the conflict on power sharing and security arrangement.

The new Bridging Proposal presented to the South Sudan warring parties and other stakeholders participating at the High Level Revitalization Forum in Khartoum suggested three Vice Presidents.

It proposed one position of the Vice president to be appointed by the Transitional Government of National Unity (TGoNU), one for the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition (SPLM/A-IO), and one for the Other Political Parties (OPP) including the South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA).

According to the new proposal, incumbent President Salva Kiir and opposition leader Dr. Riek Machar will assume the positions of President and First Vice President respectively. One position of the Vice Presidents will be reserved for a woman.

The First Vice President shall oversee the Governance Cluster, while the Vice President and the third Vice President Shall oversee the Economics and Service Delivery Clusters respectively.

The mediators proposed that the new Transitional Government shall consist of 30 Ministers and nine Deputy Ministers. Up to 17 Ministers have been allocated to the TGoNU while the SPLM/A-IO shall have eight Ministers, the South Sudan Opposition Alliance two Ministers and Other Political Parties one Minister.

Out of the nine Deputy Ministers, the TGoNU has been allocated four Deputy Ministers, the SPLM/A-IO two, SSOA one, FDs one and other political parties one Deputy Minister. Three positions out of the nine Deputy Ministers shall be reserved for women.

In the Transitional National Legislature (TNLA and Council of States), the Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA) shall be composed of 440 Members of Parliament, with the TGoNU taking 226 seats, the SPLM/A-IO taking 106 seats, SSOA 46 seats, OPP 17 seats, and FDs five seats. In the Council of States, the TGoNU shall have 28 members, SPLM/A-IO 14 members, SSOA five members, OPP three and FDs two members.

Meanwhile in the number of States, it proposed for a temporary return to the former 21 colonial Districts of Southern Sudan, awaiting a final decision on number and boundaries of the states to be conducted by an Inclusive Boundaries Commission (IBC).

However, members of other Political Parties have reportedly rejected the new proposal, describing the deal as ‘unbalanced” for mostly maintaining the original clauses of a previous proposed deals regarding the Presidency and the structure of the revitalized transitional government.

Since the start of the High Level Revitalization Forum, the SPLM/A-IO and the South Sudan Opposition Alliance have maintained their position of forming a lean government with few Ministers and Members of Parliament.








error: Content is protected !!