National News

Three women unopposed for East African Legislative Assembly

Three women have been declared members of East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) unopposed by the speaker of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly Anthony Lino Makana.

Speaker Makana yesterday declared Dr. Ann Itto Leonardo, Dr. Woda Jeremiah Odak, and Mrs. Gai Deng Nhial as members of the EALA parliament after only the three of them applied for the nine positions, three of which were preserved for females according to the East African community elections and regulations.

Dr. Ann Itto Leonardo, one of the women declared an MP to EALA said she will make sure the voice and challenges facing women are listened to and solved by the East African Community.

She said she will represent the country in solving political, economic and security issues in the country and the region.

She thanked the government for Joining the East Africa Community (EAC).

Mrs. Gai Deng Nhial Deng said she is happy because they will work together to make sure that all “our problems are solved and make sure the crisis in the country come to an end.”

“To all women in the country, they should work hard to fight for their rights and develop this young nation,” she said. “We love our country and we love our fellow women, we shall not let you down.”

She said she is going to make sure gender equality and education for women is in place.

Mrs. Deng appreciated women group in parliament “for their support to make sure all three of us are elected all.”

She noted that there was still a lot of work to be done in terms of electricity, transport system, issues of boarders, all to be discussed at the EAC bloc level. .

Dr. Woda Jeremiah Odok said their representation in the East African parliament will not be for nothing because they “will fight for the rights of women in the entire country. We have a lot of duty and roles to play in this country.”

In another development, the 26 shortlisted male candidates are left to battle it out for the six positions to be decided by members of the TNLA in an election today.

The race to the EALA attracted 29 candidates, out of which 15 are independent candidates; 6 from the Sudan People’s liberation movement (SPLM), 6 from other political parties, and two from SPLM in opposition.

By Rose Keji Benjamin


error: Content is protected !!