FIVE-countries to receive visa on arrival

By Elia Joseph Loful

South Sudan will issued residents for five East Africa members state visas upon their arrival at Juba International Airport and at the border of entry points.

Speaking to reporters yesterday, the Director General for Nationality, Passport and Immigration Lt. Gen. John Akot Maluth said others will get visas at South Sudan Embassies located in their respective countries.

“We would like to aware our public and foreigners who are here in the country concerning the procedures of how to get the visa, this we have categories into three phases. We have the East Africa countries which include Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi they will get visas on arrival,” Akot said.

Akot added that members of diplomatic communities having diplomatic passports will also get their visas on arrival.

“Those who are diplomats, especially those who are holding diplomatic passports and the UN agencies they will also get their visas on arrival,” he added.

According to Gen. Akot Tanzania citizens will be exempted visa free as per the agreement earlier reached by the two countries.

Last year South Sudan and Kenya signed a memorandum of understanding to issue visa free to its citizens a deal Director General said they are still waiting for Kenya to respond.

He however, cautioned the public in the country to process their nationality identity cards and passports through legal produces.

“I want to inform the public to stop getting their IDs and passports through middle-men. Stop bypass processes, you should follow legal procedures within the directorate,” Akot cautioned.

Akot called on the citizens who do travel to East Africa countries not to obtain temporary documents whenever they wish to travel.

“I want to urge the public in our country to apply for passport instead of getting documents which expire within three months,” he stressed.

error: Content is protected !!