AT LAST Eight governors, three administrators appointed

By Nema Juma

President Salva Kiir Mayardit has appointed eight governors and three Administrative Areas. Two States-Upper Nile and Jonglei are still vacant pending the appointment for further presidency consultations.

The appointment comes two weeks after President Salva Kiir and first vice president Dr. Riek Machar agreed on the nomination of governors. The appointment shows only one female being included in the gubernatorial slot.

In the decree read on the State owned South Sudan Broadcasting Cooperation (SSBC-TV), Emmanuel Adil Anthony, the former governor of the defunct Yei River State, was named the new governor of Central Equatoria State while Louis Lobong Lojore returned to Eastern Equatoria State.

Maj. Gen. Makur Kulang has been appointed as the governor of Lakes State while Tong Aken Ngor takes the entire Northern Bahr el Ghazal State. 

Dr. Joseph Nguen Monytuil reappointed as a governor of Unity State whereas Maj. Gen. Bona Panek Biar take over as the new governor of Warrap State.

The president also appointed Madam Sarah Cleto Rial as the new governor of Western Bahr el Ghazal State.

Alfred K.K Onyango has been named as the new governor of Western Equatoria State.

The governors for Jonglei and Upper Nile states haven’t been named. No explanation has been given.

The Administrative Areas

President Kiir appointed Kuol Dim Kuol as the new chief administrator for Abyei Administrative Area replacing Kuol Alor Kuol.

Joshua Konyi was named the new Chief Administrator of the Pibor Administrative Area and William Chol new chief administrator for Ruweng Administrative Area.

In the agreement reached on the State allocation, Upper Nile was allocated to the SPLM-IO under Dr. Riek Machar and Jonglei State was allocated to the South Sudan Opposition Alliance.

Kiir directed Secretaries-General and County Executive Directors in Jonglei and Upper Nile States to continue to act in their corresponding places, awaiting nomination and appointment of the two governors in those states.

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!