Commission chairperson discussed Indian Parliament elections”


Prof Abednego Akok Kaucuol Tong, Chairman, National Election Commission of South Sudan called on Indian Ambassador S.D. Moorthy and discussed about the forthcoming Parliament general election in India.
Indian democracy is the largest functional democracy in the world. The general elections are conducted once in 5 years to elect the Members for the Parliament. The Parliamentary election is scheduled to be held in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha (Lower House) by electing 543 Members of Parliament. The counting of votes will be conducted on 23rd May and on the same day the results will be declared. The Electronic Voting Machines are used in the election instead the usual paper ballots.
Eligible voters must be of Indian citizens and the minimum voting age is 18. All eligible voters are issued an electoral card by the Election Commission of India which is an autonomous constitutional body consist of a Chief Election Commissioner and 2 Election Commissioners. All eligible voters are expected to exercise their democratic right by casting their votes in the poll.
A total of around 900 million voters are expected to vote in the election which is to be conducted in 29 states and 7 Union Territories. There will be one million polling stations to be set up all over the country for the election. Nowhere in the world, is such a massive scale election operation conducted.
Ambassador S.D. Moorthy has agreed to consider South Sudan Election Commission’s request for training their officials at the Indian Election Commission, New Delhi.

Leave a Response